13:28 PM

2018 Awards of Excellence


Mohawk recognizes three incredible employees

The annual Mohawk Awards of Excellence recognize three remarkable faculty and staff who live Mohawk's core values, help advance one or more of the college’s strategic priorities, enhances the image and reputation of their program, department or the college, and champions life-long learning.

All full-time and part-time employees who have worked at Mohawk for at least one year are eligible. Along with being recognized with a Mohawk Award of Excellence, our three recipients will also be nominated by for national awards.


Kevin Browne, Faculty Award of Excellence

Kevin is a professor in Mohawk's School of Engineering Technology who is well known for the exceptional work he does to support both current and prospective students at the college. Kevin oftens connects directly with technology teachers in local high schools, runs coding events and demo camps, and organized Mohawk's first-ever coding competition for high school students. Kevin also founded Software Hamilton to connect local employers with IT professionals, and he launched Ancaster Talks, a community-focused networking event.

Maria Bracalenti, Support Staff Award of Excellence

Maria is the International Coach withinin the International Student Services department at Mohawk. Maria is passionate about student development, diversity education and advocacy, and student leadership training and does an amazing job of making international students feel welcome and part of the community at the college. Maria is also active outside the college serving on the boards of the Hamilton Positive Space Collaborative and the Immigrants Working Centre.

Wendy Lawson, Administrative Staff Award of Excellence

Wendy is the Associate Dean of Medical Imaging and Health Special Projects at Mohawk's School of Health. Wendy is a recognized leader in her profession who has both developed and taught courses for students, sonographers and physicians. She has served as chair of Sonography Canada. She is a representative to the Canadian Medical Association Assembly of Health Science Professions, and she is a member of the Canadian Medical Association Accreditation Survey Teams and both strategic planning and regulation advocacy task forces.