21:56 PM

Congratulations Ted, Lisa, Andrea, Angela, Elena and Darrin

The Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonography will award two major awards next month to a professor and a team of former students in recognition of outstanding research papers. 

Ted Scott, Mohawk's Chief Innovation Officer, and Mohawk alumni Lisa Smith, Andrea Perron, Angela Persico and Elena Stravinskas from the Mohawk-McMaster Collaborative Medical Radiation Sciences Advanced Diploma / Degree program (Ultrasound Stream) will receive Kenneth R. Gottesfeld Awards next month in Nashville at the Society's Annual Conference. The Kenneth R. Gottesfeld Award recognizes outstanding papers published in the Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography. Three awards are presented annually.

Lisa, Andrea, Angela and Elena submitted a paper based on a semester-long research project completed during their third year in the four-year program. The students were mentored by Professor Darrin Cournoyea, who was recognized last week with a Mohawk Innovation Award. A second team of students mentored by Darrin was published this Spring in the Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography. Few undergraduate students at any college or university have research published in international medical journals.

Ted, who served as a Medical Imaging Professor before his appointment as Chief Innovation Officer and Director of Innovation and Applied Research, received a Kenneth R. Gottesfeld Award in 2005.