13:33 PM

Alumni of Distinction announced for 2019

Ten Mohawk alumni honoured for contributions in business, community contributions

Mohawk College today announced the latest additions to its honored Alumni of Distinction. The 2019 honorees include an award-winning human rights activist, an industry trailblazer for women in skilled trades, and a distinguished Indigenous university professor.

Nora Melara-Lopez (2009) fled Honduras with her young children in 1985 after her husband, a human rights advocate and journalist, was murdered by government forces. She continued her studies after graduating from Mohawk, while working in social services and advocating for human rights and health equity. She is now an Assistant Clinical Professor (Adjunct) at McMaster University and a social worker with the Compass Community Health.

Kathy Lerette (1994) is the Senior Vice President, Business Transformation for Alectra Utilities. In her 40-year career in the energy sector, Lerette has continually broken new ground and shattered gender barriers in the industry. In addition to her professional and other volunteer roles, she is the Vice Chair of the Board for Electricity Human Resources Canada and an advisor to Canada 150 STEM Challenge: Overcoming Systemic Barriers for Women Choosing STEM Careers.

A member of the Algonquin/Mohawk, Bear Clan from the Six Nations of the Grand River Territory, Dr. Bonnie Freeman (1992) graduated from the Native Community Care: Counselling and Development – Mental Health Stream program before pursuing a decorated academic career a with a particular focus on Indigenous women and youth and community healing. She is currently an Assistant Professor in the School of Social Work at McMaster University.

Other honoured Alumni of Distinction this year include:

  • Ted Rakoczy (1979) President and COO, The Hive Strategic Marketing
  • Gary Nelson (1985) Branch Manager and Mutual Fund Representative, Scotiabank
  • Steven Connor (1994) Vice President of Human Resources, Xerox
  • Martha Rorabeck-Bradford (2002) Music Director, Egbe Music Academy
  • Joal Roshko (2010) CEO, Heartwood Renovations
  • Kathryn Crooks (2012) Professor, Mathematics/Associate Business Analyst, Mohawk College
  • Luke David Johns (2014) Client Services/Building Coordinator, Ontario Aboriginal Housing

The Alumni of Distinction awards recognize Mohawk College graduates for their career achievements and community contributions that provide an exceptional source of inspiration for future generations. This year’s recipients will be inducted into the Alumni of Distinction at a dinner on Oct. 10 at LIUNA Station in downtown Hamilton.

Profiles on the 2019 Alumni of Distinction recipients are available at: www.mohawkcollege.ca/alumni/alumni-of-distinction/2019

Tickets to the Alumni of Distinction Dinner are available at: events.eply.com/2019AOD