16:57 PM

Media Release: Mohawk recognizes outstanding faculty and staff

Mohawk honoured 41 outstanding faculty and staff at the college’s annual President’s Breakfast on Wednesday, Aug. 31.

The annual President’s Breakfast is an opportunity to recognize the outstanding people and teams that make Mohawk College the best place to learn and work. Recipients of these awards are individuals and teams that have been nominated by their colleagues and peers.

Hosted by Mohawk College President Ron McKerlie, the event brings together college staff, faculty and community partners to celebrate the achievements of the past year and to give a preview of the year ahead.

The highlight of the event is the presentation of the Mohawk President’s Awards and Mohawk Awards of Excellence.

This year’s award winners included the following individuals and teams.

President’s Award Winners

Congratulations to Sara Gluchowski. Sara is the Director of Project Management at Mohawk College. Sara was nominated by her colleagues in the Project Management Office. Sara works with many different areas of the college and is highly respected for her thoughtful advice and guidance on Mohawk projects.




Congratulations to Mohamed Ibrahim and Nityan Khanna. Mohamed and Nityan work with students, start-ups and governments at all levels on applied research projects at Mohawks mHealth and eHealth Development and Innovation Centre. They have helped put Mohawk students on the world stage for digital health and launched many successful careers in the process.



Congratulations to Mohawk’s Building and Facilities Services Team. Team members include: Gary Sachs, Dave Miller, Terry Walker, Michael Rutter, James Ham, Gary Strong, John Sullivan, Neil Allen and Andrej Jazwiec. This team keeps more than 1 million square feet of campus space and more than 100 acres of campus grounds looking great, all year, no matter the weather.



Congratulations to the International Education and Partnerships team of Rachel Alfano, Michelle Datzkiw, Linda Epplett, Rouxanne Irving, Maria John, Jinhyung Kim, Eryka Kaminsky, Ranmalee Kulendran, Brittany Laxton, Sara Lewis, Gallage Perera, Joanne Tansley, Randa Salih, Thushini Siriwardana, Anne Jie Tao, Nouha Yaacoub-Elsaadi, Deseree Parrish-Campbell, Maria Bracalenti, Marilyn Marth and Allison Stewart. Made up of team members who come from all areas of the college, this team has helped to make Mohawk the college of choice for an increasing number of international students by providing assistance and services from the moment the students arrive in Canada.

Mohawk Award of Excellence

Congratulations to the following Award of Excellence recipients:

Cheryl Olario, Support Officer, Financial Assistance Office







Christine Boucher, Employment Advisor, Student and Graduate Employment







Julie Amais, Christine DiCarlo, Mary Ianazzo
Janet Mannen and Wayne Aubert, professors, McKeil School of Business






Theresa Merwin, Operations Manager, School of Community and Urban Studies







Duncan Aird, Instructor, School of Continuing Education







Jay Mycroft, Professor, School of Engineering Technology (absent for photo)

About Mohawk

Mohawk College educates and serves more than 29,500 full-time, part-time, apprenticeship and international students at three main campuses in Hamilton, Ontario and learning hubs across Hamilton through City School by Mohawk, and at the College’s Centre for Aviation Technology at the Hamilton International Airport. Mohawk is among the top five colleges for applied research in Canada. It has been named one of Canada’s greenest employers seven years in a row, holds a GOLD STARS rating from AASHE for sustainability achievements and is home to the country’s largest and first institutional building to receive dual certification for Zero Carbon Building Framework design and performance for The Joyce Centre for Partnership & Innovation. More than 135,000 people have graduated from Mohawk since it was founded.