11:04 AM

Mohawk's INDI 101 radio nominated for six Hamilton Music Industry Awards

Mohawk College’s Radio Station, INDI 101, has been nominated for six awards to be given out at the 2010 Hamilton Music Industry Awards on Saturday, November 20, in McIntyre Theatre at college's Fennell Campus. 

The nominations are as follows: 

Music Director of the Year: Sonja Maurin, Music Director, INDI 101, Mohawk College

Radio Show of the Year: INDI 101 “Lou’s Control” with Lou Molinaro, and INDI 101 “Sounds of the Hammer” with Jamie Smith

Media Person of the Year: Jamie Smith, Program Director, INDI 101, Mohawk College, and Lou Molinaro, Radio Host, INDI 101, Mohawk College

Radio Station of the Year: INDI 101 Mohawk College

INDI 101 won in the Radio Station of the Year category at the 2009 Hamilton Music Industry Awards. INDI 101 Station Manager Les Palango said he is proud that the Hamilton Music Industry Awards chose to acknowledge his team again in 2010.

“Although you don’t govern how you approach your work throughout the year with an eye on winning an award, it’s still a nice thing to know that the industry recognizes you,” Palango said.

INDI 101 is a living lab for Mohawk College broadcasting students. The station also devotes a considerable amount of time to promoting independent music, particularly home-grown Hamilton music. Many Hamilton Music Award nominees have been interviewed and had their music featured on INDI 101.