09:20 AM

Nicole and Shane make history at TechnoChallenge 2009

Volleyball players Leah Waxman and Steve Pawelczyk were named Mohawk's Outstanding Athletes of the Year during Friday's 42nd annual athletics awards banquet

Leah, an OCAA First-Team All-Star and Mohawk's top point producer in 2008-09, helped the Mountaineers to a 16-4 record in the West Region and a quarter-final playoff berth.

Steve was named the OCAA's Player of the Year. It was the second consecutive year a Mountaineer has received top-player honours in the sport. Pawelczyk ended up as the OCAA scoring champion this season, averaging 5.3 points per game for the 12-4 Mountaineers. Steve was a league all-star, a championship tournament all-star and an All-Canadian.


  • Dr. Sam Mitminger Award: (Academics/athletics) Sean Lowe, volleyball

  • All Around Female Athlete: Amanda Edmonds, soccer, fastball

  • Male Freshman: Zac Schulz, volleyball

  • Female Freshman: Michelle Abella, basketball

  • Dr. Keith McIntyre Athletic Leadership Award: Jenny Koschanow, fastball

  • Barb Moore Spirit of Athletics Award: Adam Brenzil, mascot

  • Hap Holman Business Award: Jas Mogford, badminton

  • Department of Athletics and Recreation Award: (varsity and campus rec participation) Stacy Dafoe, volleyball, co-ed slo-pitch

  • TEAM AWARDS Sport, Coaches Award, Most Improved Player, Most Valuable Player

  • Badminton: Kathleen Manson, Alicia Jenkins, Jas Mogford

  • Men's basketball: Tyler Kam, Kenold Knight, Jerome Smith

  • Women's basketball: Morgan Taylor, Casey Boggs, Michelle Abella

  • Cross-country: Andre Simon, Charlene Gibbins

  • Curling: Nevin Breedon, Katie Mattice, Matthew Kimber, Andrea Thompson

  • Women's fastball: Samantha Tubman, Amanda Edmonds, Jenny Koschanow

  • Men's rugby: Steve Johnston, John Tavares, James Cumpson

  • Men's soccer: Roberto Del Rosario, Ibrahim Al-Jabry, Sirwan Irandost

  • Women's soccer: Nicole VanderMeer, Tanya Musgrave, Kira Wilkinson

  • Men's volleyball: Sean Lowe, Zac Schulz, Steve Pawelczyk

  • Women's volleyball: Rachel VanHartingsveldt, Allison Feliciano, Leah Waxman.