16:23 PM

Outstanding faculty, staff and teams recognized during 2014 Mohawk President's Breakfast

Eight outstanding faculty and staff and three teams were recognized today with college awards during the 2014 Mohawk President’s Breakfast.

Nominated by their peers, the recipients were recognized before an audience of more than 600 colleagues.

Nafia-Al-Mutawaly_1_200x250The 2014 Mohawk President’s Award was presented to Dr. Nafia Al-Mutawaly, a professor and principle investigator with the Mohawk Energy Research Centre. Nafia secured a five-year $2.3 million federal research grant and is Mohawk’s first ever Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council-sponsored industry research chair. Nafia is leading the first applied research project of its kind in Ontario related to energy distribution.



Mohawk Awards of Excellence were presented to:

Wendy Lawson and President Ron McKerlie Wendy Lawson and President Ron McKerlie

Wendy Lawson, a professor and researcher who’s an early adopter of new teaching methodologies and technologies. Wendy has mentored students who’ve won a national competition for the past three years. Wendy is one of five faculty from across Canada to receive the 2014 College Sector Education Award and is past president of Sonography Canada.

Dan Popowich and President Ron McKerlie Dan Popowich and President Ron McKerlie

Dan Popowich is a professor with Mohawk’s School of Interdisciplinary Studies who’s passionate about teaching and a favourite among students. Whether in class or online, Dan is always introducing new and innovative ways to engage students, especially when the subject is anthropology.

Dan McKerrall and President Ron McKerlie Dan McKerrall and President Ron McKerlie

Dan McKerrall is the chief architect of Mohawk’s Academic Plan – a plan that is being used by other colleges and serves as a benchmark for best practices. Along with building the plan, Dan led Mohawk’s successful program quality assurance process audit.

Alan Griffiths is a Mohawk graduate and past president of the Mohawk Students’ Association who is leading the college’s sustainability initiatives. Under Alan’s leadership, Mohawk became the first college in Ontario to adopt an environmental management plan. Alan has also introduced a series of initiatives including community gardens and is a past recipient of a Silver Staff Excellence Award from the Association of Canadian Community Colleges.

2014_Excellence_Heath Troy Heath and President Ron McKerlie

Troy Heath has led the revitalization of Mohawk’s business development and retail operations. Troy has also led a number of key projects, including the launch of ONE Card, major improvements to food services and the introduction of new services for students and staff. Troy has alsoserved as co-chair of Mohawk’s United Way Campaign.

Marilyn Miccuci and President Ron McKerlie Marilyn Miccuci and President Ron McKerlie

Marilyn Miccucci is an outstanding manager whose door is always open. Marilyn supports students in their first days at Mohawk when they need financial assistance and she serves students on their last day when they walk across the stage during Convocation.

Lucy Lobodici and President  Ron McKerlie Lucy Lobodici and President Ron McKerlie

Lucy Lobodici is an event planner extraordinaire who always delivers outstanding events for students. What’s more, Lucy is a great mentor to students who help plan and run events. As Lucy’s nominator wrote, “there isn’t anything she wouldn’t do to ensure the success of an event and, more importantly, the success of the students she works with.”

Three teams were also recognized with Mohawk Awards of Excellence:

2014_Excellence_FRPi Future Ready Process Initiative Team

The Future Ready Process Initiative Team for streamlining and improving core systems and processes that support students. Team members included Rosemarie DeRubeis, Irina Maric, Rob McInnis, Frederic Nickner, David Ragona, Marguerite Bowerman, Mary Male, Katherine McCurdy-Lapierre, Alexia Neziol, Mirela Vujcic, James Cumming, Sangarapillai Muralitharan, Katie Currows, Debbie Calarco, Tammy Capone, Donna Drywood, Corinne Ethier, Tim Fricker, Shirley Kuta, Coline MacEachern, Marilyn Miccucci, Barbara Russell and Michelle Shuttler.

2014_Excellence_AgencyConcept The Agency Concept Team

The Agency Concept Team for creating a one-of-a-kind living lab in the McKeil School of Business where Advertising, Marketing, Graphics and Public Relations students work on pro bono campaigns for nonprofits and community groups. Team members included Jef Petrossi, Raf Ferreira, Tim Tuck, Wayne Aubert, Joseph Duda and Jane Cooper.

2014_Excellence_ePortfolio The ePortfolio Team

The ePortfolio Team for creating an online, multi-media resume for students to showcase their skills, experience and work for prospective employers. Team members included Julie Aumais, Amy Cook, Peggy French, Troy Heath, Kathy Hicks, Jenn Horwath, Leah MacCharles, Theresa Merwin, Alexia Neziol, Cathy Ozols, Valerie Parke, Lisa Pegg, Dawn Pielechaty, Jeffrey Rankine, Joanne Smith, Margaret Thomson and Shantal Woolsey.