13:40 PM

President Rob MacIsaac's remarks at the 2012 ENERCOM Conference

The Hamilton Spectator has this story about Mohawk's annual athletic awards banquet. Congratulations to all of the award-winning Mountaineers.

Mohawk College Athletics 2011-12 Major Awards

Dr. Sam Mitminger Award: (To graduating year student, combining academics and athletic excellence) Aminu Bello, basketball

Wes Hicks Outstanding Male Athlete: Justin Scapinello, volleyball

Outstanding Female Athlete: Rachelle Abella, basketball

All-Around Female Athlete: Ashley Hagen: soccer, volleyball

Male Freshman Athlete: Andrew Cicuttini, basketball

Female Freshman Athlete: Megan Campbell, basketball

Department of Athletics & Recreation Award (Outstanding participation in varsity and campus recreation): Jordan Crockett

Hap Holman Business Award (For varsity athletics, academic excellence by a second or third-year business student): Nicolaas VanGemert

Dr. Keith McIntyre Athletic Leadership Award: Daniel Clark, Jamie-Leigh Haughn

Barb Moore Spirit of Athletics Award (Dedication and the true spirit of student life in support of athletics): Elia Koolsbergen

Varsity Coaches Awards

Badminton: Kien Tran; Most Valuable, Chris Hong, Mohammed Nazimuddin

Men’s Basketball: Manny Campbell; Defensive Player of the Year, Taylor Dowhaniuk; Most Valuable, Aminu Bello

Women’s Basketball: Marina Ciannavei; Rookie of the Year, Megan Campbell; Most Valuable, Rachelle Abella

Cross country: Rookie of the Year, John Miles; Most Valuable, Jonathan Redfearn

Curling: Jordan Crockett, Most Improved, Sarah McFarlane; Most Valuable, Sandy Toole

Women’s Fastball: Stephanie Duffin, Most Improved, Sybel El Kareh; Most Valuable, Nicole Leitch

Golf: Most Improved, Heather Brouwer; Most Valuable, Curtis Henshaw

Men’s Rugby: Eric Moyer; Most Improved, Nathan Lemstra; Most Valuable, Phil Jackson

Women’s Rugby: Rebecca Halliwell; Most Improved, Reyanna Sangestino; Most Valuable, Raquel Rose

Men’s Soccer: Momo Veljko, David MacLeod; Rookie of the Year, Alex Mickeloff

Women’s Soccer: Shelby Dawdy, Jaclyn Halliday; Most Valuable, Ashley Hagen

Men’s Volleyball: Justin DesRoche, Andrew Ross; Most Valuable, Justin Scapinello

Women’s Volleyball: Julie Gagnon, Rookie of the Year, Chi Chi Chuks-Mady; Most Valuable, Kristin VanHartingsveldt