14:36 PM

President Rob MacIsaac's remarks from this morning's 2010 Mohawk President's Breakfast

Congratulations to all the award recipients who were recognized at this morning's President's Breakfast.

President's Awards of Excellence were presented to:

Piero Cherubini
(second from right), Dean of Skilled Trades and Apprenticeship, for his leadership within the College and across the Province in championing apprenticeship and skilled trades training.

Engineering Technology Professor Katherine Usik for consistently earning great reviews from students and helping new students find their way and gain confidence during their crucial first year at Mohawk.

Kelly Dunham (second from left), with Alumni Relations for her volunteer work as a coach, mentor and friend with the lower city Sparks girls’ basketball team.

The Online Apprenticeship Registration System Team for building a system that lets apprentices  register and pay online, improving customer service and eliminating the need for manual entry of information by College staff. Team members: Dianna Creamer, Carol Morris, JoAnn Byron, Maria Segato, Ruth Leszko, Jim Cummings, Katherine McCurdy-LaPierre, Vickie McKinnon, Rosemarie DeRubeis, Grant Hodson, Lisa Arnold, Coline MacEachern, Bonnie Holdsworth, Susan Spurr and Pia Foss-Pederson.

The inaugural MaryLynn West-Moynes Grants for Inspiring Learning, Leadership and Citizenship were presented to Child and Youth Worker professor Marco Felvus (left) and Applied Music professor and coordinator Darcy Hepner (second from left). Marco organized a professional development day that filled the McIntyre Theatre with students, staff and college partners while Darcy is a driving force behind Jazz in the Hubs, a program that sees Music students, grads and faculty perform interactive jazz concerts in lower city elementary schools.

The Friend of Mohawk College Award was presented to Dr. Peter George (left) in recognition of his leadership in helping forge the strongest college-university partnership in Ontario. During his tenure as President of McMaster University, Dr. George helped lead the creation of the Mohawk-McMaster Institute for Applied Health Sciences, the development of collaborative degree programs in nursing and medical radiation sciences and the launch of Canada’s first Bachelor of Technology Program.

The Mohawk Innovation Award was presented to students Ali Elchawiche and Piseth Danhthe and professors Wayne Collins and Duane Bender for their work on the Mohawk Mobile Technology Project that led to the College’s first app for the iPhone.